Mission completed!

Mr Elton in all his Regency finery! As you can see I opted for black stockings in the end, it gave a more elegant look. A very comfortable attire indeed. (Not that one would slouch in this. One becomes very aware of one´s posture.) A 21 c man is not used to showing so much leg,  and I realised that one´s lower part of the body is particularily exposed when dancing. The kidskin gloves were very tight at the beginning but soon they streched a bit and I even forgot that I was wearing them.

The watch fob: I wonder what Regency gentlemen did to prevent their watch fobs (the ribbon with the cross) from constantly sliding into the side opening of the fall front? Since they are supposed to hang directly along the edge of the said front.

The waistcoat: perfect, save for one mistake: I put the buttons on the wrong side. I marked the buttons and buttonholes in front of a mirror, and obviously didn´t think. Typical mistake when there is stress involved. Found out when I was dressing and about to leave for the ball, and by then it was too late. I´ve promised myself to move the buttons and make new buttonholes some of these days. Hope to hide the original buttonholes under the overlapping.

Hair: Mr Elton studies fashionplates so no wonder he made an effort to achieve the curly romantic hair of the Regency era.

In the pockets of the tailcoat I carried the dance programme and a fresh handkerchief.

8 thoughts on “Mission completed!

  1. Dear Sir,
    I have just come across your most wonderful journey of making an outfit! What excellent craftsmanship and such an outcome! Your dedication to accuracy also is very highly meritorious indeed!My family has shifted in and out slightly over the years in making outfits from different centuries and have done much dancing from the regency era!

    I have one question that you might be able to help with. I have never been satisfied with the way my cravat ties and havn’t been able to find a suitable list or explanation for various ways to tie a cravat. Is there a certain book or website that you consult? Or do you simply espy a certain cravat from a picture and recreate it yourself?

    Thank you and good work!

    • Dear Micaiah,
      Many thanks for your nice words! Hopefully my process can inspire fellow reenactors, historical dancers – the list goes on – in their strive for either making a Regency era costume from scratch or improving existing garments.
      Ooh, the cravat! I always seem to run out of time when dressing for a Regency outing, and the cravat is more or less thrown around my neck before leaving the house. I’ll try to take a few moments this weekend and explain more in detail how I did it. I looked at different portraits, film adaptations and online fashion plates. I can recommend a visit to Andrew over at Victorian tailor. He did two posts on the cravat: http://victoriantailor.blogspot.se/search/label/cravat?m=0
      Have a nice weekend!
      Petri

  2. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an
    extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark
    it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  3. Hi there!

    Those are beautiful Regency Pump shoes!! where did you come across those?? Im a Napoleonic/regency Re-enactor now living in Sweden (originally from New Zealand) and need to find a more local source for such things.

    • Hej Andrew,
      Thank you! I ordered my shoes from Evans’ webshop in UK. (They sell larger sizes. Cost me about £10. I guess there are “Ballerina slippers” everywhere but they only come in ladies sizes…) Good hunting!

Leave a Reply

