Boots

A Regency gentleman could not walk on earth without a pair of boots. They are part of the fashionable silhouette, together with the coat, waistcoat, cravat and some type of breeches/pantaloons. The boot is a result of the lifestyle of the era – the military uniform or the practical country squire on horseback. The sensible and well tailored English gentleman became a fashion icon during the years leading up to the French revolution and continued to be popular in the following century (and still is?). A gentleman would wear his boots both in town and country – almost everywhere but on the most formal of occasions. For the dapper middle class man in the city the sporty look would suggest a country seat in the family. There are two categories of boots: the top boot and the Hessian. The top boot is either tall or a bit shorter and is characterized by folded down brown or buff calf leather on the shaft. These are seen in many portraits and fashion plates, including the portrait of Monsieur Seriziat, my main inspiration. The other type, the Hessian, has its origin in the uniform of the Hessian army. A boot entirely in black finished at the top in a heart shape with a tassel right in front of the knee (see fashion plate below). The all-black riding boot, or Wellington, appears in the 1810´s, if I understand it correctly.

I have started to experiment with the modern boots from Koenig. I found them online for a very good price, so I was only a bit hesitant to cut in them. I masked off a line with tape, and cut through the outer layer with a knife. The inner layer is calf skin and perhaps there is enough to fold down on the outside? It could work. It´s a whole new project to search for additional pieces of leather that don´t cost a fortune, so preferably not. The cobbler? Flea market boots/bags/jackets? The boots are my size in the foot but man are they tall! What a difference to cut off two inches. Much easier to move about in them. (And yes I know from experienced horse-people that riding boots are supposed to be broken in and moulded to the wearer´s legs. It is sort of difficult to combine this process with every day life.) Update: I also removed the (plastic) boning in the middle back seam on the shaft. It was easy once i cut off the boot-top. Boots during the Regency era seem to be somewhat softer than the stiff modern riding boot.

3 thoughts on “Boots

  1. The boots look great at this point. You are brave to cut into them but I’m sure the final product will more than meet expectations. Can’t wait to see the results.
    On my end, I’ve finished my waistcoat except for the buttons. I designed by using the draping method. The collar attachment took three tries before I was satisfied. I now have a good example to work with. My event is in two weeks!

    • Dear James,
      We’ll see about the boots… Thanks for your optimism! I’m glad you’re happy with your waistcoat. Sometimes it takes more than one try to get a good result – and that’s why it’s essential to have enough time. Don’t forget to have photos taken of you in your finery. I’m sure you’ll make a success!

  2. Pingback: Regency Top Boots | Regencygentleman

Leave a Reply

