Faux… Breeches part 2

This weekend I made an effort to finish the kneebands. The side openings on the lower part of the legs have buttons, but the kneebands fasten with ribbons, either sewn on or running through channels. (Could otherwise be buttons or buckles, of course, but not on this style of 1790s-1800 breeches.) See the ribbons on the extant breeches? (An image that always turns up everywhere on the internet, the source is Pemberly.com, but goes back to a page in a book?) These ribbons were tied in decorative bows, see the detail of the Mr Seriziat-portrait. In this way the kneeband would sit firmly below the knee and help to keep the stocking in place. The closeup shows how I backstiched two seams to create channels for the ties. I used some leftover bias tape when fitting, but I need to work out what tape or cord to use. Should be same material as breeches. The twill is very bulky though, so rolling and hand stitching it is definitely plan B. I´ll start with the fabric store – perhaps they have suitable tape in same colour as the breeches.

5 thoughts on “Faux… Breeches part 2

  1. Breeches seem to be shaping up nicely. Finished mine tonight but used buttons on the leg band as the breeches are white and I wanted contrasting black buttons. (Event is scheduled this weekend!)
    Do you have photo of the inside of the fall front breeches? My next pair will be fall front and I would love to see how you did yours.

  2. Pingback: Faux buckskin breeches part 4: Photosession | regencygentleman

  3. have you perhaps got a place where I can find the sewing patterns? I realy want to try to make my own for a white tie students gala I’ve got in a few months.

    • Dear Mark, I say go for it! I am probably not the right person to ask (since I drape most of my garments) but in this case I used the period pattern reproduced in Norah Waugh´s The Cut of Men´s Clothes (link: http://www.amazon.com/Cut-Mens-Clothes-1600-1900/dp/0878300252/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8 or go to your library). There are no step-by-step instructions in this book, so you need considerable experience in period sewing. I suggest you look for commercially available patterns – there are several manufacturers but google Kannik´s or Sensibility Patterns or Nehelenia Patterns.

Leave a Reply

