New Waistcoat

Last weekend I finished the buttonholes and yesterday I sewed on the buttons. So all work is done, and I got myself a new waistcoat! If you care to read about the process I managed to write five (!) installments for this little project. Click on links here, here, here, here, and here.

Photo by Regencygentleman aka Mr Tigercrona

Getting ready for some quick photos.

Photo by Regencegentleman

The idea was to make a rather plain and comfortable waistcoat for summer picnics. There was just enough of this pink linen for the typical 1790-1820’s style with short waist.

Photo by Regencygentleman

Six metal buttons. They are just ordinary modern buttons from the fabric store, but have that suitable neo-classical look.

Photo by Regencygentleman

I found the exact match of cotton embroidery thread. I used two strands for the buttonholes and one strand for the prick-stitches.

Photo by Regencygentleman

Closeup of collar and lapel.

image

2 thoughts on “New Waistcoat

  1. You certainly don’t have to apologize for your tailoring. I always say my gowns are made by an ancient widow in the village. Beautiful waistcoat.

Leave a Reply

